Match Preview: Afghanistan vs Srilanka

Match Preview: Afghanistan vs Srilanka

Match Preview: Afghanistan vs Srilanka 

The Super Four phase of Asia Cup 2022 will begin today in which Sri Lanka and Afghanistan will compete against each other in the first match. Both the teams are equal to each other but in the first phase, Afghanistan easily defeated Sri Lanka. Afghanistan bowled out Sri Lanka for 105 and chased down the target easily, so Sri Lanka will be very worried.

It is very important for Afghanistan to win this match if they want to reach the final of Asia Cup 2022 then they must win this match. If Afghanistan lose this match, their chances of going to the final will be very less. Afghanistan are favorites to win this match as Afghanistan’s bowling and batting are much stronger than Sri Lanka. And Afghanistan proved it in the first round as well so Sri Lanka will have to work hard to win the match.

Like the first matches of Asia Cup 2022, the toss is very important in this match. In Asia Cup 2022, it has mostly happened that the team that wins the toss and decides to bowl first wins the match.



Pitch and conditions

The surface in Sharjah will be the same as the Pakistan v Hong Kong game. There is likely to be some rough patches and dry spots that could aid the spinners. That said, the ground dimensions are significantly smaller than Dubai, and both sides have batters than can take surfaces out of the equation. So far, there hasn’t been any dew across both venues. Toss should not be a deciding factor.

Team news

Both sides have a fully fit squad of players to choose from. They are unlikely to make changes.

Probably Playing XI of Srilanka

1 Pathum Nissanka, 2 Kusal Mendis (wk), 3 Charith Asalanka, 4 Danushka Gunathilaka, 5 Bhanuka Rajapaksa, 6 Dasun Shanaka (capt), 7 Wanindu Hasaranga, 8 Chamika Karunaratne, 9 Maheesh Theekshana, 10 Asitha Fernando, 11 Dilshan Madushanka.

Probably Playing XI of Afghanistan

1 Hazratullah Zazai, 2 Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), 3 Ibrahim Zadran, 4 Najibullah Zadran, 5 Mohammad Nabi (capt), 6 Karim Janat, 7 Rashid Khan, 8 Azmatullah Omarzai, 9 Naveen-ul-Haq, 10 Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, 11 Fazalhaq Farooqi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *